Understanding International Commercial Invoices

International Commercial Invoices in eHub Ship

International Commercial Invoices

International commercial invoices are a crucial part of getting products through customs. Many countries support electronic international invoices, but not all. For countries that do not support electronic documents, paper documents are required. USPS labels are exempt from this requirement as all required information is contained on the USPS label.

Configuring International Commercial Invoices

To configure your international commercial invoice settings, navigate to Settings > Documents. You can then choose to always include international invoices with your international orders by clicking Label, then under “Include” select “Commercial Invoice”.

If you would like to change the way your international invoices are formatted or adjust the default number of copies printed (3), select “International Commercial Invoice” from the document settings page.

Printing International Commercial Invoices

Typically, when paper invoices are required, three copies are needed. One copy goes inside the package and two are placed in a sleeve on the outside of the package for customs officials.

Countries Accepting Electronic Trade Documents

The following is a list of countries that currently accept electronic trade documents. Please note that this list may not be exhaustive and can change over time. It is always recommended to consult with the customs authorities of the countries you are shipping to and from to confirm their latest requirements for electronic invoices.

  • Argentina
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bermuda
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Canary Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Curacao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Faroe Islands
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jersey
  • Jordan
  • Korea, Republic of
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Martinique
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

It's official: ShipKey is merging with eHub
Keep everything you love about ShipKey—and access more ways to optimize your shipping.